Different levels of local government work together to maintain and improve the local area.  With each tier being distinct it can be confusing as to which level is responsible for what.

The following list provides an overview of the responsibilities of each level of our local government:


Local Parish Councils

For those areas with a Parish Council, their responsibilities are aligned with smaller local services such as allotments, parks, community centres and war memorials.


Maidstone Borough Council (MBC)

Areas responsible for:

  • Environmental Health
  • Housing
  • Leisure and Recreation
  • Local Taxation Collection
  • Planning Applications
  • Waste Collection

You can report common problems in your area including fly tipping, liter, dogs mess etc. directly to MBC on their reporting page.

Kent County Council (KCC)

Areas responsible for:

  • Education
  • Highways
  • Libraries
  • Passenger Transport
  • Social Care
  • Strategic Planning
  • Transport and Transport Planning
  • Waste Disposal

You can report most highways problems directly to KCC including potholes, drainage, street signs on their reporting page.

Local Members of Parliament

The responsibilities of our local Members of Parliament are to represent local concerns in the House of Commons to the Government to ensure that the people of Maidstone are listened to as part of the running of this country.

This website uses cookies

Like most websites, this site uses cookies. Some are required to make it work, while others are used for statistical or marketing purposes. If you choose not to allow cookies some features may not be available, such as content from other websites. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.

Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.
Marketing cookies are used by third parties or publishers to display personalized advertisements. They do this by tracking visitors across websites.