May 2019 Maidstone Borough Election Results and Council Leadership

Maidstone Lib Dems are delighter to have retained leadership of Maidstone Council following May’s elections which had had again resulted in no overall control.

At the first Full Council meeting, following the election on 18th May, Martin Cox, the Lib Dem leader gained support from Labour and Independent councillors to retain his position of Leader of the Council. Lib Dems supported Independent Fay Gooch who has retained her position as deputy leader of the council.


In the elections Lib Dems held all contested seats except North where an administrative error led to Rob Field being eligible to stand.


The results below show the outcome for each ward, showing a very strong performance for the Lib Dem candidate in  each seat contested



Liberal Democrat Cynthia Robertson 1180

Con 505

Lab 159

Grn 189


Coxheath & Hunton 

Liberal Democrat Richard Webb 1223

Con 753

Lab 134



Liberal Democrat David Naghi 942

Con 568

Lab 256

Grn 223


High Street 

Liberal Democrat Dinesh Khadka 852

Con 360

Lab 346

Grn 219



Liberal Democrat Susan Grigg 390

Con 218

Lab 25

Grn 80



Liberal Democrat Brian Clark 1332

Con 561

Lab 154

Grn 128

Ind 94